Why I decided to travel

Having never left the UK as a child, I spent most of my teenage years day dreaming about the world. I would try to imagine what someone was doing thousands of miles away whilst I was sitting in a stuffy classroom. My mind would race with sandy beaches and clear blue oceans. I’d imagine stunning dancers making their way through cobblestone streets, alongside vibrant celebrations. I knew that there was more to life than these four grey walls. So I promised myself I would experience everything life had to offer.

I guess you could say life gave me a bit of a slap in the face when I finally finished school. My brother was diagnosed with cancer and all of my big ideas were soon forgotten. I found myself working a 40 hour week for minimum wage. I hated my job, I hated the hours, the money and most of all I hated the cloud of dread that hung over me every morning.

Thankfully after a long battle, my brother made a full recovery and is starting college this year. Listening to all of his ambitions and plans for the future really got me thinking about my own. I’m 22 years old, on anti depressants and dread the future whilst my friends are out partying, studying abroad and travelling. After all that we had been through as a family and as individuals, I couldn’t find the sense in my unhappiness.

Eventually I’d had enough. I decided to take a few days off work and allow myself to get lost in my thoughts, something I very rarely do. I was doing a little soul searching, to find that something that would inspire me again. It proved more difficult than I initially thought. I wasn’t really sure who I was or what I wanted anymore.

I started reading travel blog, after travel blog and was amazed by the experiences had by so many people. Everyone’s story was different but all said travelling had completely changed their outlook on life. I knew then what I needed to do.

My boyfriend and I arranged our first adventure. Stepping out of our comfort zone, we travelled to Amsterdam and it was absolutely fantastic! We took in the sites of the city, experiencing the culture as best we could. It confirmed to me that I needed more adventure in my life. I needed change and I needed it fast.

We kept up our adventures when we returned home, hiking every where we could. Scotland is great for long walks, breath taking scenery and fresh air. I made myself a promise once again, that I would take every opportunity I could. Before long I applied for college. To my surprise I landed a place the day after my interview. It made me realize that you can do anything you set your mind to, you just have to be willing to take that first step.

I handed in my notice with a sigh of relief. To celebrate, I stepped even further out of my comfort zone and travelled to Barcelona on my own. It wasn’t any where near as scary as I thought it would be. In fact I absolutely loved it. The nightlife was phenomenal, the architecture stunning and I met people from all over the world that I can now call friends.

The future is filled with endless possibilities, you just have to take a leap of faith !

 

 

Leave a Reply

